Old Thread for Gaming Setups

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Old Thread for Gaming Setups

Post by Ambush on Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:51 am

Disclaimer
Like the title? So then we don't have to go thread hunting and resurrect too old of threads.

Intro
Needless to say, I rearrange my room more than my sock drawer. This cart I found looks absolutely amazing for an idea I had in mind. I wanted the ability to mobilize your computer and monitor as well as any peripherals. Now all I need to do is make the cables neat and tidy. I have the accessories to do that already I’m just waiting on me not being lazy to do it!

Cables are now cleaned up


Right Side Profile Shot


Left Side Profile Shot


Mounted with Velcro underneath my desk are the remote controls for the Monitor and Speakers


Future PC Build
I wanted to build a LAN box and use this one as a server. The idea for the new PC was to forget everything I knew and wanted. The goal would be to have something small, energy efficient, low heat producing, and still be powerful. I put this idea on hold for now until Sandy Bridge-E’s release. I am in what you may call mid-migration. The PC is everything I would want in a server, currently.

PC Specs
[Case] - ABS Canyon 695
[Motherboard] - ASUS Sabertooth X58 Motherboard
[Processor] - Intel Core i7 920 Quad-Core (2.6ghz @ 3.33ghz)
[Ram] – 24 GB G. Skill Ripjaws 1600mhz (9-9-9-24)
[Audio Card] – SupremeFX XF-i (7.1)
[Video Card] - EVGA GTX 480
[Optical Drives] - Sony BLU-ray Burner
[Hard Drive] – Single WD 1TB 7200rpm (SATA III)
[Hard Drive] – Three WD 1TB Caviar Green (Raid 5 / SATAII)
[Power Supply] - 700w OCZ 80 plus (Gold)
[OS] - Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Macbook Pro Specs
[Screen] – 15” 1440x900 Glossy
[Processor - Intel Core i7 2.0 GHz Quad-Core
[Ram] - Corsair 8GB DDR3 1066MHz
[Hard Drive] - OCZ Vertex 3 240 GB SSD Drive (SATA III)
[Hard Drive] - Hitachi 500GB 7200rpm
[Video Card] - AMD Radeon HD 6490M with 256MB GDDR5
[Built in Video Card] - Intel HD Graphics 3000
[Ports] - Thunderbolt, 2 x USB 2.0
[OS] - OSX Lion
[OS] – Boot Camp Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Updated – 12/1/2011


Last edited by Ambush on Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:39 pm; edited 59 times in total
avatar
Ambush
{VoIP} Administrator
{VoIP} Administrator

Join date : 2009-12-09
Location : In a galaxy far far away
Posts : 587
Reputation : 7

Back to top Go down

Re: Old Thread for Gaming Setups

Post by Ambush on Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:25 pm

My 1TB Hitachi, not WD, is acting up. It's real rubbish mate. I'm going to go through with the server box. In other words: Redo the system for community use rather than personal use. I will also be cannibalizing some parts. One of the cheapest builds I have ever done. This build would not cost more than 1k. 1k is a lot, but if someone was to buy a new DECENT desktop (that doesn't need to be replaced in a few years), then yeah you pay something a little higher or around there.

I miss my eMachine!!!11 Oh wait no I don't!!

_________________
27" iMac Intel 3.4ghz i7/32gb RAM/3TB Fusion HDD/GTX 680
15" Retina Macbook Pro Intel 2.6ghz i7/16gb RAM/500gb SSD/GT 650M
avatar
Ambush
{VoIP} Administrator
{VoIP} Administrator

Join date : 2009-12-09
Location : In a galaxy far far away
Posts : 587
Reputation : 7

Back to top Go down

Re: Old Thread for Gaming Setups

Post by Ambush on Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:00 am

ABS Case is now a server. I just need to install VMWare onto it. Once this happens, we can use it to study IT stuff. I'll set my CISCO routers up right next to it. Should be beneficial to all living in the home. It can also host LAN games.

[PICS GO HERE]

Main Box

CPU: Intel i5 2500k
MOBO: ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3
RAM: G.SKILL Sniper 16GB (4 x 4GB) 1600mhz
GPU: EVGA Nvidia GTX 480
SSD: OCZ Agility 3 240GB
OPTICAL: Sony BWU-500S Bluray Burner
PSU: OCZ 700W (90 Plus Gold)
CASE: Thermaltake LANBOX Lite
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit

Server Box

CPU: Intel Core i7 920 2.6ghz @ 3.20ghz
MOBO: ASUS Sabertooth X58
RAM: G. Skill Ripjaws 24 GB (4 x 6GB) 1600mhz
GPU: PNY Nvidia 330GT
HDD: 1TB Hitachi Deskstar HDS721010DLE630
HDD RAID 5: 3 x 1TB WD Caviar Green
OPTICAL: Lite-On CD-RW
PSU: OCZ 700W (90 Plus Gold)
CASE : ABS Canyon 695
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
avatar
Ambush
{VoIP} Administrator
{VoIP} Administrator

Join date : 2009-12-09
Location : In a galaxy far far away
Posts : 587
Reputation : 7

Back to top Go down

Re: Old Thread for Gaming Setups

Post by Romanovski on Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:09 pm

Dude get 1T WD drive to replace that Hitachi peice of junk thing. You will also need to get an external USB or FireWire 2TB drive to make backups of your RAID5 incase your motherboard controler goes out. I will set up the Mirroring batch script to perform backups every night. I need to find some time to do this though this week.

_________________






Join My Minecraft Server: voiplanparty.com:777
Server Map http://voiplanparty.com:333
[iframe]http://voiplanparty.com:333[/iframe]
avatar
Romanovski
{VoIP} Moderator
{VoIP} Moderator

Join date : 2009-12-10
Location : NONE of YOUR BLA BLA
Posts : 274
Reputation : 8

http://www.whitecrowsecurity.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Old Thread for Gaming Setups

Post by Romanovski on Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:32 pm

Ok, I know that you already installed windows and stuff on the server, but there is a better way to run vertual machines for free. Check this link out http://www.vmware.com/products/vsphere-hypervisor/overview.html

the Hypervisor gets installed as an OS on the physical computer, but then you manage the server through a VMWare Client software from any computer.

Anfortanatly this setup will require you to completely get rid of windows OS installed on your system, but this setup will provide direct access to the hardware for the virtual machines instead of going through 2 layers of software(Windows OS and VMware Workstation Software) before using the hardware. Another espect of this setup is that im not sure how the graphics card gets utilized in this setup. But I do recommend testing this setup before we get two far in building the server. So what you think Timbo Slice? Let me know if you want to test this out sometime and I will help you out since ive never had the chance of having a dedicated machine to run vmware on before. The benifits of this server is that you don't have to worry about opening VMware workstation everytime you boot up the computer. If the VMware server gets rebooted all the virtual servers come online automatically.

_________________






Join My Minecraft Server: voiplanparty.com:777
Server Map http://voiplanparty.com:333
[iframe]http://voiplanparty.com:333[/iframe]
avatar
Romanovski
{VoIP} Moderator
{VoIP} Moderator

Join date : 2009-12-10
Location : NONE of YOUR BLA BLA
Posts : 274
Reputation : 8

http://www.whitecrowsecurity.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Old Thread for Gaming Setups

Post by Ambush on Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:01 am

Romanovski wrote:Ok, I know that you already installed windows and stuff on the server, but there is a better way to run vertual machines for free. Check this link out http://www.vmware.com/products/vsphere-hypervisor/overview.html

the Hypervisor gets installed as an OS on the physical computer, but then you manage the server through a VMWare Client software from any computer.

Anfortanatly this setup will require you to completely get rid of windows OS installed on your system, but this setup will provide direct access to the hardware for the virtual machines instead of going through 2 layers of software(Windows OS and VMware Workstation Software) before using the hardware. Another espect of this setup is that im not sure how the graphics card gets utilized in this setup. But I do recommend testing this setup before we get two far in building the server. So what you think Timbo Slice? Let me know if you want to test this out sometime and I will help you out since ive never had the chance of having a dedicated machine to run vmware on before. The benifits of this server is that you don't have to worry about opening VMware workstation everytime you boot up the computer. If the VMware server gets rebooted all the virtual servers come online automatically.

Sounds good. I haven't done anything much to this OS yet. Dude, why can't we just have a network backup going to your house!? That way if my house gets robbed we still have the data. I'm not using even half a TB of space for my stuff. bounce
avatar
Ambush
{VoIP} Administrator
{VoIP} Administrator

Join date : 2009-12-09
Location : In a galaxy far far away
Posts : 587
Reputation : 7

Back to top Go down

Re: Old Thread for Gaming Setups

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum